Help...... rookie midi question

Guernica

Hey folks,
....I have a dumbass question thats driving me nuts! I want to use a keyboard to control a drum machine that is sync'd up (midi) to a digital recorder. How would i route this? ....Im a midi dumbass ........ so please speak slowly:D

.....any help would be very much appreciated....:)

output of keyboard to input of interface. Output of interface to input of drum machine. basically a chain. simple

.......thanks for the help stealth..

.....would this require a loop? .....meaning, do i need to run a line out of the drum machine and into the keys?

......much thanks from a midi dumbass:D

Hey Guernica, how are you?

I gotta question: why are you syncing the drum machine and the recorder? Just curious (is the recorder a midi recorder/sequencer?).

Now supposing that the drum machine is the master and the recorder the slave, I would connect:

key out --> drums in ---> drums out ---->recorder in

or

key out --> drums in and keys thru (or 2nd. out)--> recorder in

Midi thru is useful to pass midi information that comes into a device to others. What I don't remember is if it also passes the info that the particular device generates. I guess it does, but check it. If you use a midi thru, you can record not only the drum machine's channel but also other channels from the keyboard.

Cheers, Andrés

....thanks for getting back to me man:)

I have a drum part that i worked out on the drm machine using a few of its presets. Unfortunately to manipulate the presets (level, decay, etc.), I have to use a key board controller for access. I already have the drum machine synced up to my recorder.

.....so to summarize,
I want to be able to play the drum "song" that i have programmed on the machine. I want to keep it midi sync'ed to my recorder. I want to be able to work on the parts of the song accessable only through an outside controller, w/ the controller.

does that make sense?

thanks man,
g