Help, I can't get MIDI out to work!

HollowMan1975

In Sonar or even in something really simple like PowerTab, I can't get either of my keyboards to receive and play MIDI messages. Sending MIDI messages from the synth has always worked fine for years with this system. Before today I really never had a need for sending MIDI to the synth, as I used soft synths in Sonar. My synth was used primarily as a controller keyboard. But now I'm trying to send MIDI data out from Sonar to the keyboard, and I can't hear a thing.

I'm not really a newbie, and I've played around with pretty much every setting I can find. On both my Yamaha P200 and my Korg Triton, I've turned off all the MIDI receive filters (and also tried them in reverse, just in case), so it shouldn't be filtering anything. The little indicator in the taskbar shows that both programs are sending data (little light on the right side of the icon blinks when the program tries to play a note).

I have an Audiophile 2496 and updated the drivers to 5.10.00.0048. I flipped both the MIDI cables around to see if it was a faulty cable. I criss-crossed them to see if somehow I'd reversed the cables (when I did that, nothing worked at all of course). My MPU-401 port works fine as it controls my J-Station perfecty.

The only thing I can think of is the IRQ port my AP2496 gets assigned by Windows 2000. It gets IRQ11, as does everything else for some reason. My BIOS lets me hardwire certain PCI slots to certain IRQ settings, but doing that doesn't make any difference, as soon as Windows boots up it's still in IRQ 11. Thats the only thing I can think of thats not 'right' with the situation. The motherboard is an MSI 645 Ultra.

Anyone have any ideas? This is taken the majority of the day and is driving me nuts!