dipping into the midi pool

wrongtown

Hello everyone.

I've been recording with a Roland VS-880 for a number of years, but have never utilized the midi capabilities of my machine.

I recently aquired some ancient gear for free, and I'm wondering how I should go about adding it into my setup, takinging full advantage of my midi options and computer editing.

I would also like to know exactly what I will now be able to do with a Korg M1.

Anyhow, here is my new (but old) gear:

Korg M1
2 ART multieffect processors
Alesis HR-16 (I love this machine)

I do understand the premise of MIDI, and I've hooked everything up and been able to sync everything, but I'm under the impression there is so much more then simply syncing a buch of gear. Can I tell the effects processor to change to patch 56 at measure 25? Can I record midi info to control the M1 and HR-16?

I realize these may be simple tasks, but like I said, I'm fairly new to the MIDI experience.

Thanks

Can I tell the effects processor to change to patch 56 at measure 25? Can I record midi info to control the M1 and HR-16?

u bet. all you need to do is to have a sequencer send a "program change" msg on the correct channel. You can also control any midi controlable parameter on anything, all you need to know is which CC (control change) channel it is set to receive on (in the manual). The best thing to do would be to get a midi to usb interface and then use something like midi ox to send the appropriate msgs and just record them with the sequencer. I u like the HR-16, check out the mmt-8

Last edited:
Here are links to three good articles on midi basics --- part one, part two and part three.