Absolute beginner requesting help with MIDI device and DAW

PSV

Hello

I am very, very new to music production and I am (think) I am about to sign up with a music foundations class. I am currently deciding which DAW to go with as well as which MIDI device. I would like a device that is good for beginners but also will be able to grow with me and handle a few more complicated tasks later. I have a budget of around $300.00 - $400.00 ( really pushing it there) for the device. I found these two and wondered if anyone experienced could give advice on which they would go with and why...

"Novation Impulse 49 key USB midi controller" (on Amazon, could not post link)

"Akai Professional MPK249 49 key USB midi controller" (also on Amazon, could not post link)

Also, the same with DAWs, which are good for the beginner to learn on as well as grow into later? I'm really into movie scores (like Hans Zimmer), movie trailer music (like 2WEI and All Good Things), remixes and fantasy orchestral in general. I'm looking into Ableton 10 the most right now, but I have seen there are many out there so I hoped someone could guide me toward the most intuitive and best all round DAW.

Thank you!

There are plenty to choose, and most people go with what they've always used. Cubase for me.

I'm personally not keen on short keyboards. orchestral movie scoring needs the more heavyweight sample packages and many use keyswitching - which is tricky with smaller keyboards - you can't play a heavy bass and a lighter top end at the same time, let alone use key switches. However, if you're not much of a piano player you can probably get by. both are decent enough products with plenty of useful features. just the 49 keys would be the stumbling block for me. most samplers really need lots of controllers and for some people (not me) the pads.