Total novice - Help with mic please.

RPJWB

Hi, I'm a total novice to this recording game so please accept my apologies if what I ask is a bit thick.

I want to start recording a blog/radio style program to .mp3 format (songs and voice overs)

I have a Numark Mixtrack Pro and VirtualDJ that i can do this through to record the .mp3 or i can just use the VDJ software on the pc direct.

I have some old mics that i use when i do discos and quizzes, which are fine for that type of thing, however for the voice recording and radio side of things they are very muffled and I have to be almost touching the mic with my mouth for the mic to hear me.

The mics i have are a Proel DM226 & a Shure PG58.

My question is... what is the best sort of microphone to use for the vocal side of things .. i.e what type of mic and what model ?

Thanks in advance.
RPJWB

The Shure should give you better results than described. The problem is likely to be down to how you are getting the audio into the computer . Plenty of better mics, but before you even go there - you need to sort out input. We don't usually do much with DJ gear, but the snag here is likely to be preamp settings perhaps being optimised for yelling into?

Tell us how you have wired things so we can have a think.

BTW - you don't need to multi-post. Most users here use the new post button so we see everything, not just one area.

Ok ... so at the moment I have the Shure mic plugged into the mic socket in the soundcard of the pc.

There does seem to be a slight delay as well (about 0.5 sec) from when i speak to actually hearing the sound on the pc speakers/headphones