Sound Cards / Audio Interfaces

tgoes

I've just joined this forum and I hope to exchange useful information with you all. My first issue is: I used to do a lot of audio recording during most of my life until about 8 years ago when I stopped due to lack of time. Now I am retired and I want to go back to it as a hobby, as I am a musician and writer, and I want to record my own music. The problem is my (PCI) audio card is outdated, I can't even find updated drivers for it so it is no longer working well on Windows-10. So, I searched the internet for newer ones, but all I found were "Audio Interfaces". So, my question is, were sound cards replaced by such audio interfaces? Are they mostly USB now? All PCI cards I found are SoundBlaster. I remember there were M-Audio Sound Cards such as Darla, Layla, Audiophile, etc. I was wondering what are the good modern sound cards with 2 and 4 tracks. USB would be better as they could be used on a Laptop computer. Anyway, I guess you got my point. Any suggestions would be welcome. I am interest in good, but reasonably priced ones since now I am just doing it for a hobby. Thanks in advance.

Audio interfaces are essentially sound cards, but a USB interface isn't tied to a host card. And a sound card is generally just I/O, with no physical controls or metering. Some of the older systems you list kind of cross the line with the breakout box. Popular USB interfaces include Focusrite Scarlett and units from Tascam, Native Instrument, Behringer, PreSonus, Mackie, Zoom etc.

So an audio interface has pretty much the same function as a PCI card, but generally has more functionality.

My first PCI card was an ISIS card which had a break-out box with eight line inputs. It did have some monitoring software, which was handy.

You will find that contemporary USB interfaces will adequately take care of your laptop recording needs.