Solo vocal/acoustic guitar; are Studio Projects B1 mics ok?

Guitar Jim

I will take delivery of a Fostex VF80 digital recorder/CD burner in a few weeks.
I'm considering buying 2 Studio Projects B1 mics.
My music is strictly solo..... just vocal/acoustic guitar recorded live ( no overdubs).
I have several questions:
(1) While I realise the equipment I'll be using is not pro quality, I nonetheless would like to aim for a good, clean, clear sound on both vocals and acoustic guitar.... something that would be considered good demo quality on a budget. Is the SP B1 mic a reasonable choice for an *all purpose* vocal/instrument mic on a budget?
(2) I've had no experience with digital recording or recording in stereo. In order to get a stereo affect is it necessary to record with 2 mics using 2 channels? Or can a digital recorder such as the one I'll be using simulate a stereo affect using just the one mic? Keep in mind I'm only interested in recording live with no overdubs.
(3) If I use 2 mics at once for a stereo sound would I normally get any phase cancellation problems with the type of condenser mics I'm thinking of buying?
Thanks for any advice.

Guitar Jim said:
(1) Is the SP B1 mic a reasonable choice for an *all purpose* vocal/instrument mic on a budget?

Yes. Some like it better on instruments than vocals. Put another way, there are likely better mics, at about the same price point, for vocals.

Guitar Jim said:
(2) In order to get a stereo affect is it necessary to record with 2 mics using 2 channels? Or can a digital recorder such as the one I'll be using simulate a stereo affect using just the one mic?

Yes.
Dunno.

Guitar Jim said:
(3) If I use 2 mics at once for a stereo sound would I normally get any phase cancellation problems with the type of condenser mics I'm thinking of buying?.

You can get phase problems. Most problems can be nearly elimiated if you follow the 3 to 1 rule.

Guitar Jim said: