..soldering cables... "+" = red wire? "-" is black wire?

earworm

ok,
i don't know why, but i never can remember what color the + and the - wire are in XLR cables...

i gotto write it on the white walls of my room so i see it every day!

+ = hot ? = red ?
- = cold? = black ?

or the other way round...

just soldered a cable, works fine, but i"'m affraid i might have messed with the phasing...... :o

thanks..

I don't know if colors are standard. Just make sure you solder pin 1 of one end to pin 1 of the other, etc. Use an ohmmeter to make sure.

thats not bad news , i know i connected the right pins to the right pins,
but i was affraid that there really is something like..
i don't know, real strict rules about soldering cables :rolleyes:

how do you make your cable go out of phase?
(for example:)
if you connect the red wire to pin1 on one end and pin 2 on the other?

i sound like a total newbie here, i got maybe 20 selfmade cables,
but honestly i just soldered away...

earworm said:
thats not bad news , i know i connected the right pins to the right pins,
but i was affraid that there really is something like..
i don't know, real strict rules about soldering cables :rolleyes:

how do you make your cable go out of phase?
(for example:)
if you connect the red wire to pin1 on one end and pin 2 on the other?
Pin 1 is ground (or shield). You NEVER connect audio signal to Pin 1 of an XLR connector.

Pin 1 is shield. Pin 2 is the + (positive) signal, and Pin 3 is the - (negative) signal.

You reverse signal polarity by soldering the Pin 2 connection (+) from the mic end of the cable to the Pin 3 connection (-) at the board end. You then solder the Pin 3 connection (-) from the mic end of the cable to the Pin 2 connection (+) at the board end.

Any changes in wiring from standard should occur at the board in side of the cable (i.e., the male connector).