Ribbon Microphone

ex351d

Hi! so i just got a condenser mic, an sE electronics X1. just found a ribbon mic for sale locally an X1R. would it be useful to record the room during drum recording or i could just use the condenser? I still need to get more mics to have enough mics for toms.

Ribbon mics are good for many things including room mics. I would give it a try if the price is right.

btyre2013 there is only 1 mic for sale not a pair. jg96 im still a beginner at this, so where else can i use the ribbon mic apart from room mics? would the condesor work well as a room mic or not? and would i be better off buying more dynamic mics for the toms or just get the ribbon mic?

btyre2013 there is only 1 mic for sale not a pair. jg96 im still a beginner at this, so where else can i use the ribbon mic apart from room mics? would the condesor work well as a room mic or not? and would i be better off buying more dynamic mics for the toms or just get the ribbon mic?
I don't know what your mic locker is looking like right now so its hard to me to say for sure. If you only have a couple mics at the moment I might hold off on the mic unless its a crazy good deal. Condenser mics can also make great room mics.

Ribbons are fairly versatile: they can be great for overheads, room mics, guitar cabs, some vocals, horns, and whatever else you can think of. The downside is if they get whacked or hit with a large blast of air they can be damaged. I would not use them as tom mics unless you were to put them under the toms.

For drum mics....focus on dynamics....though for any OH/room mics, confessors would be better, IMO.

Ribbon mics can make good room mics, and even OH mics. They tend to smooth out harsh highs, so could work very well as OH mics to smooth out cymbals/hats. They also tend to pick up more bottom, though I think often that could be more of a perception thing since they roll off the highs....but I have notice that the ones I use will certainly add some low end fatness too.