Is it possible to get that EVH sound with JUST 2 SM57's like the rumor?

stratmaster713

Is it possible to get that EVH sound with JUST 2 SM57's like the rumor? Obviously, you have to have a good guitar rig to begin with, but I have tried every placement possible with SM57's, and I am not capturing anywhere near that tone they got on VHI and VHII.. I tried on axis, off axis, combinations. My 421 seems to come WAY closer than anything the SM57's are capturing?

Anyone have any ideas on how they recorded VH's cab, or if the SM57 x2 rumor is true?

I'm with you man... I've been obsessing with 2 even 3 sm57's for a few months now trying to get something remotely close to the sounds they got on VH1 through 1984 and I just am not hitting it. SM57's have a unique tone and i seem to be getting the worst of those tones. I also get sick of people treating me like a newb in some places and suggesting i learn how to place a mic or look for clipping. Seriously, that's pretty obvious. I think a lot of it might have to do with the room and the speakers that were used. Starting to doubt that greenbacks were the only thing mic'ed. Higher wattage speakers with less breakup perhaps but still, i don't hear that tone coming from the mics. My setup isn't shit either. I have a jcm800 and a randall lynch box with modded modules that kill (hilligan, my own etc..) Can you post some clips? They probably ended up combining a 421 in there..