Please help me try and discover my problem with recording

Myra Lumen

I have a T-Bone mic and an Art Professional Tube Mic Preamp. I plug it directly into my laptop. Everytime I record, i sound kind of mechanical and with long tones it falls flat and kind of cuts me off in a way. I use Audacity to record and it shows red bars for input. I am a super noob and just want to record some covers :( My equipment is about 4/5 years old. It did work properly in the beginning, don't know what changed. Anyone who can help or should I buy new gear?

How do you plug it "directly into" your laptop? From what I can tell, it only has a balanced line level output. Most notebooks do not come with a line input jack.

Hi Myra, HR forum gets a steady stream of people who have, or worse, have just bought equipment that is unsuitable for their purpose. You have fallen into that trap.

Now, to be completely honest it IS quite possible to get your setup to work into the jack input of a laptop but it would involve a lot of messing about with adaptor cables and/or some soldering and electronics know how (attenuators and baluns) The best solution all round is to bite the bullet and buy an Audio Interface.

"But which one?" You ask! Actually, in many ways it doesn't much matter. Once you go above about $100US they are all very good in terms of sound quality, way better for instance than even the best tape machine. I can however give you MY ideas of what NOT to buy...

Avoid going too cheap and simple. There are many AIs around with just one microphone input. Don't get one. "But there is only me and ONE mic!" You say? Does not matter, trust me. One day you will need a second mic channel (and ALL computer sound software is 2 channel as default). Might get a friend?

If the funds allow and you have further musical aspirations you could look at AIs with 2 mic inputs and 2 more "line" inputs? This would allow you to record 3 nicrophones with your existing pre amp.