perhaps too MUCH information

2low

Great forum. I have learned a lot by reading your posts but I am now trying to put something together. At this point can't see the forest through the trees.

I am a hobbyist and I will only be recording myself for the most part. I am buying a korg d1600 and a pair of event ps6 monitors. I own a Shure beta 58 dynamic mic. I will be recording a variety of electric guitars, bass guitars, steel string guitars, nylon string guitars, drums, and an acoustic bass. My voice is in the tenor range (but limited) and not particularly big sounding.

My mic budget is about $350+or-. I am thinking a studio projects C1 for vocals...it seems like the consensus is that these are warmer sounding than the B series and might add a bit of thickness to my voice. I also need mics to record the acoustic instruments (I figure the shure will be okay for micing amps). Perhaps a pair of marshall 603s? Or perhaps a Studio projects B3? I also read praise for CAD mics.

Since its only me playing I suppose a stereo pair of mics is the most i will use at one time. The goal is a decent vocal sound and flexibilty on recording the instruments. Am I on the right track?

Thanks for your help.

Bob

guitar amps: shure sm57
bass: (record it direct for good clean sound)
drums:

snare: shure sm57
overheads: mxl 603s
kick: beta 52

vocals: studio projects c1, akg c3000 (not 3000b) or nady scm900
aco. guitar: akg c3000 or mxl 603s.

zeke

I think for $350 I would do this:

Studio Projects B1 $80 or MXL V67 $90
MXL 603s (pair) $160
Audio Buddy Mic Preamp $80
Pop Filter $20