Newbie with microphone issues and questions (please help!)

Ionrex

Hi newfriends!

I am a simple newbie with mic trouble I'm afraid, and was rather hoping someone may be able to lend me some advice.

I've recently purchased a condenser USB microphone (amazon dot co dot uk/gp/product/B07VT711DV/ is the particular one, though so far as I can tell they're much of a muchness) and it's very quiet and more annoyingly quite fuzzy when I record with it (I've just got it for voice recording, nothing too fancy). The quietness I can boost the decibels with it seems in the audio recording program, so that's not so much of an issue I think, but the fuzz and the static increase with it. Now I think the fuzziness is due to the USB connector thing itself or possibly the USB port, based on the fact that if I record with the USB in but without the mic connected to it, there's still the fuzz but of course nothing else.

I am a complete neophyte when it comes to this so it is speculation, but I was wondering if this sounds correct based on what's known about USB microphones, and if so whether it sounds likely that if I just get a phantom power supply and plug the mic into the laptop's input/output audio hole (not the technical term I expect!) it should all work properly. I've got a couple of projects I'm raring to go with so if getting a power supply or some other easy piece of tech off Prime is the solution then that would be ideal for me.

Any and all advice would be super-appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Are you using the little adapter to connect the microphone to the computer? A condenser mic needs external power to operate, and the adapter they give you plugs into the USB port and should draw voltage from the USB port. Without the power to provide voltage to the electret capsule, you will get little to no output and it will be very noisy.