Newbie looking for first microphones

Jschmitz54

Greetings,
I’m new to the forum and appreciate the opportunity to get knowledgeable information and advice.
I’m putting together a starter home recording studio for myself. I’m a beginner Acoustic guitar player with about 6 months of lessons, retired and am doing this to help myself improve. Recently purchased Stienburg UR22 mkII interface and a pair of JBL 305P monitors.
I’m looking for a decent mike that doesn’t cost too much. I’ve read about the Rode NT1-A. It seems to be liked by most. I’ll be recording acoustic guitar and vocals. Wondering if you would recommend something else or is this about the best I can do for about $200. TIA

You'll need a boom mic stand to position any microphone for recording acoustic guitar and also a pop filter for vocals. Plus a good XLR cable to connect the mic to the Steinburg, and decent headphones for tracking (IMO). It adds up quickly!

The NT-1 (vs 1A) seems to get more love around these parts.

If you plan to record yourself playing guitar and singing at the same time you probably want to consider getting a second mic and stand at some point because you'll find that getting the guitar and vocal balanced with just a single microphone is challenging.

If your budget is pretty tight at $200 and you don't already have the stand and other pieces, you might consider other mics - lots of options out there.

I have an original NT1, an NT1A, and the new re-invented NT1 (the black one).

The first two hardly got a look in once I got an AKG C414 XLS, but when I got the black NT1 it became my general purpose 'go to' mike.

However, everyone will have their personal favourites.

You'll need a boom mic stand to position any microphone for recording acoustic guitar and also a pop filter for vocals. Plus a good XLR cable to connect the mic to the Steinburg, and decent headphones for tracking (IMO). It adds up quickly!