A newbie approaches first microphone purchase

jumbosilverette

In the spirit of the Motion Picture Acadmey, let me say thank-you to all in these forums who have lent expereince and expertise, often answering the same quetions many times over.

I've read and absorbed a lot over the last few weeks, and now feel more comforable about buying my first recording package.
Though I used to run a sound board in a tv studio, I rarely had to do anything but pin on some Sony ecm laveliers and run the gain on a mixing board. Only once did I mic a band in the studio; suprisingly it came out quite nice (even if it took the better part of an afternoon to set-up).

In other words, I'm no Wally Heider. Also I'm an intermediate musician who has never recorded.

So what follows is is my in-expert opinion about the mics I considered for purchase. All of them were culled from the mp3 recordings at http://www.thelisteningsessions.com/session5.htm and all feature a guitarist playing the same .39 second passage. I listened to each clip through my computer's headphone port with Grado SR60 headphones, and re-listened to certain passages or repeated the tracks as often as necessary to form an opinion.

Mic 1: faithful, neutral, some clipping on pulled notes; very up -front, no room noise

Mic 2: not as rich as #1, no clipping on fingers, no room noise but a little more distant-sounding

Mic 3: full and very pleasant, all good qualities of the other two mics, but warmer

Mic 4: very even (seems compressed -- a little choked back), quieter compared to others

Mic 5: loud, explosive after #4, not warm, more metallic

Mic 6: a little deadened, anechoic; guitar sounds a little distant compared to others; sounds like you're in a recording booth

Mic 7: fret noise less pronounced; all the good qualities there; pleasant up-front soundstage, clear through the spectrum; nothing under or over deemphasised, but no magic.

The mics:

1. Studio Projects B1
2. MXL V67
3. MXL 2001
4. Behringer B1
5. MXL 990