Need recommendations for a new mic

Inonly

Hi, I am a beginner and I want to make music for fun and for the love also.
My goal is to be able to rap over an instrumental/beat or rap over my guitar instrumental and beatbox.

Which microphone would you guys recommend?
I have tried AT2020(xlr) and Blue Yeti Pro and I wasn't really satisfied with the recordings (maybe I just suck lol).

My budget is around 200 dollars for the mic.

And for the preamp, I'm thinking of getting the M-audio Fast Track Pro because I've read some positive reviews on it. If you have other suggestions on the preamp, please let me know. Budget is around 200 on the preamp also.

Thanks.

I would also suggest looking at the new Sennheiser MK 4 - affordable, very good value for money and getting an excellent reputation.

sennheiser_mk4-500x500.jpg

Thanks for the suggestion John!
I've been searching for some and I've found Rode NT1-A and Behringer B-2 Pro.
B-2 Pro is the cheapest out of the three (including John's suggestion). I might just get that one.

Any insights on the mic? Or any other suggestions?

Thanks.

Edit: I found Samson C01U, a USB microphone. Any thoughts?

Last edited:
Avoid USB mics like the plague. They're a dead end street and, because of the built in pre-amp and interface, are often not as good in quality as you can get with a proper external audio interface.

Now a question: what was it you didn't like about the AT2020? That might help us recommend a mic with different characteristics. The 2020 is a pretty reasonable performer for the money so it'll be interesting to hear what problems you had.

Avoid USB mics like the plague. They're a dead end street and, because of the built in pre-amp and interface, are often not as good in quality as you can get with a proper external audio interface.