need a more sensitive mic for fingerstyle guitar

anton

Hi Everyone,

I am looking for a sensitive mic for fingerstyle guitar. I currently own a pair of the MXL 603's. Would something like the Earthworks SRO be more sensitive than what i have now? What does one look for when determining mic sensitivity? See my thread titled "Need Preamp to Complement my Mbox" in The Rack section of the forum.

I am thinking for fingerstyle guitar i either need a more sensitive mic, more gain via an additional preamp, or both.

Here is a short sample i recorded.

anton

signal chain

By the way, the recording is a single 603 off the 10th fret about two feet away point down at a 45 degree angle or so. The gain on the Mbox is at the three o clock position, five o clock would be full.

anton

im no expert by any means

the recording doesnt sound that bad.... But it feels kinda hollow and empty..

i own a pair of 603's , they sound amazing when used in stereo recordings....

perhaps try using both 603's in a xy postioning as close as you can get, and perhaps a good condensor mic a foot in front of it or so as a room mic... and mix all that together..

You are right, it does sound empty. Thats exactly the impression i have been getting when listening back to my stuff. I guess perhaps i should try an omni, as i feel that i want to hear more of the room, or at least a bigger impression of the sound.

anton

not that i know of. My only problem is that the signal is just not strong enough, like i am not getting enough gain. i think perhaps another pre might fix that.

anton

anton said:
not that i know of. My only problem is that the signal is just not strong enough, like i am not getting enough gain. i think perhaps another pre might fix that.

anton
Does that mean this is a tone or sound perspective issue (if the sig/noise is good)?