which MXL is like a TLM 103?

maddrummer

I heard that one of the $80 MXL mics are very similar in design and sound to the TLM 103. Just curious to know if this is a general veiw or not and which MXL it is. Thanks

Sorry to disappoint you, but there are no $80 mic in the world that sounds like the Neumann TLM103.

With that said, I heard that the MXL 990's shockmount fits the TLM103, so they're at least physically similar in some ways.

O trust me know disappointment. I was just curious of which one it was that someone else was talking about. Next I gotta see which one of the Behringer boards sounds like Neve. Thanks

Don't shoot me, I'm just the guitar player....

But I seem to remember Harvey Gerst saying something like the MXL V77, a tube mic and Marshall's most expensive mic at around $300-$350 street, sounded like the Neumann.

I have the mic and like it a lot, but I'm an amateur who has never used a Neumann - so I wouldn't dream of comparing them!

Fab

Fab4ever said:

But I seem to remember Harvey Gerst saying something like the MXL V77, a tube mic and Marshall's most expensive mic at around $300-$350 street, sounded like the Neumann.

I have the mic and like it a lot, but I'm an amateur who has never used a Neumann - so I wouldn't dream of comparing them!

Fab

SOunding like a Neumann what? Think about this very carefully...........

I think the Studio Projects B1 sounds like a shure.

Posted by Harvey Gerst on the R.A.P. (rec.audio.pro) NG -

quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ok, my pinched sciatic nerve thing died down, and Alex and I finally got around to finally listening to all the mics in the Marshall line. None of the testing was done formally, and it's all pretty subjective, but in talking to Brent Casey at Marshall, he pretty well confirmed what I heard, so I think my comments will be of some use to people here.