Which mic - Stellar X2 or Rode NT1?

mjbphotos

As my trusty old AKG P220 has been having occasional issues due to humidity (solved by keeping it in a ziploc with desiccant packs), I thought it might be time to start shopping for a new LDC.
Occasional female voice recording, but mostly my voice and acoustic guitar work.

I was eying the Rode NT1 'kit' (shockmount and pop filter included), but then came across the Stellar X2 Vintage last night for the same price: https://homerecording.com/bbs/newthread.php?do=newthread&f=27

Of course, I need to wait for my next stimulus check.... Which would you choose?

I have no experience with the Stellar X2. Indedd, I had not heard of them until you mentioned them.

However, I have spent a lot of time with the Rode NT1 (old and new). While the earlier NT1 mikes attracted some criticism for being overly bright, the newer black one is vastly different, having been re-engineered and made entirely in Australia. I have no hesitation in recommending it as aquiet, high quality, versatile and smooth sounding mike.

I recently purchased the TZ Stellar X2. Not the vintage model. I like it. It's smooth and pretty flat. Still rich tone. Hardly had to touch it with EQ. I'll probably purchase the Stellar X2 vintage soon.

I've never heard any TZ mics, so I can't comment on their sound. I have the NT1 (new black style) and its one of my main mics. It sounds really nice on acoustic guitar, and seems to work well with my voice. The very low noise level is also great.

Well, I see TZ just released an X3, which tells me that there were enough 'issues' with the X2, they had to do some changes. Think I'll go with the Rode, except no reliable dealers seem to have them in stock right now. Amazon has it shown from one questionable (going by name) seller for $30 more than everyone else.