Which mic, was planning on Neumann tlm 103 now not so sure...

captshiznit

Hi,

First off to say i'm going to be new to home recording I want to record some covers with my friend acoustic + vocals. I decided to gun for the TLM 102 but none are ever on sale 2nd hand in the UK so I decided on the TLM 103 which is roughly 900-1000 dollars used.

Am I going overkill here or is it a worthy investment? I want as good a sound as I can possibly get of course, but wondering maybe a budget condesor mic might do the trick. Sometimes it seems extra money is worth it then sometimes not, like the difference between the 102 and 103 seems so slight for example. But hey i'm new to this so what do I know just going by youtube videos of mic shootouts.

I'm unsure, any advice would be appreciated.

Cheers.

Hey and welcome.

What's the plan? Just room mic and play live, or record guitar then record vocals over the top?

I think the 103 is a marmite mic, and IMO it's pricey for what you get.

What kind of interface are you using?

Hey and welcome.

What's the plan? Just room mic and play live, or record guitar then record vocals over the top?

I think the 103 is a marmite mic, and IMO it's pricey for what you get.

What kind of interface are you using?

Multitracking (is that what it's called?) record guitars first then vocals over it was the idea and layer it. I don't have an interface yet only just recently started looking into them. I won't need a huge interface with lots of ports I assume? cause as I said record each part seperately.

Ok fair enough.

There are cheaper options, but i guess it depends on your needs.

If your room is bright sounding, or if your guitar or singer are even bordering on bright/harsh, I'd take a look at other mics cos the 103 has a reputation of really highlighting the highs.

Do you have the opportunity to audition any mics, or do you have experience with any? This is the best way to answer your question.

Ok fair enough.