Which mic to complement Shure SM57? Should I buy AKG P170?

bl000dy

I've been using SM57 for 2-3 years as my only mic ever used for vocals/guitar amp/acoustic/lector purposes.

I noticed a long time ago that there are certain EQ corrections (especially in case of electric guitar) I almost always apply to it. Most common is a cut centered around 3-5 kHz with Q around 1.5 and gain between -2 dB to even -7 dB at times.

I guess it's because Shure is very focused at that area. After the cut it has less cutting edge sound, but I hear other freq's clearer and it feels better/bigger overall on most devices. At least that's the case with my music/equipment and the room I record in. And my SM57 is not fake of course ;).

I thought I might buy a second mic to compliment it so I wouldn't have to make that EQ cut as if that mic was not for my use. I think of a mic with a better low/high response and aforementioned cut at high mids.

One particular mic caught my attention - AKG P170. I looked at the graphs and sound samples and compared to SM57 it's less responsive at 3-6 kHz which is sort of what I was looking for, has better low/high response, it's a condenser so finally I could record acoustic and quiet vocals without background noise, I just have to exchange my old lexicon alpha for something with phantom power and 2 channels.

I'm not feeling comfortable about that +6dB bell at 10kHz that the graphs show (even tho SM57's graph looks even more nasty So I don't know... we're after the sound not the specs after all...). I fear that instead of cutting high mid boost on SM57 I'll be cutting that high bell on P170 which would bring me back to where I've started. But maybe I get too much distracted about what's written down on a paper...

I wonder if I could just tie those two mics together and balance them in a mix to find the tone every time I record anything instead of using EQ. I guess it would sound better? If not, then... F*** it...