High pressure microphone for INSIDE the mouth...

micmadness

Hey guys,

I have what some might call 'strange' requirements in a microphone. To be honest I'm not sure if what I think I need is even made by any microphone company. I am hoping that some experts will be able to at least guide me in the right direction as I am a novice in this field.

Basically I would like a small microphone, (the smaller the better) as this will be placed inside the mouth cavity at times. It would need to withstand quite high pressure and high moisture. I would need the mic to be able to record anything from high frequency, quieter low pressure sounds (think quiet whisper or subtle tounge click/snap sounds) right up to lower frequency high pressure sounds (think beatboxing style bass wobble sounds made inside the mouth - while closed) without clipping.

I have had surprising results with a bog standard apple iphone in-line ear-bud mic, however as you can imagine it clips out fairly easily with those high pressure big bassy mouth sounds. I have also tried a couple of cheap lavalier mics but both of those fair no better than the apple mic.

I am happy to spend a bit of money to get what I need but I would have to know the mic I purchase would be up to the task. To be honest I'm not sure even what type of mic (dynamic, condenser, supercardioid etc) would be the best option.
I was looking at the shure beta 54 mic (sadly discontinued) but I'm not sure if that will do what I ask of it anyway.

Any feedback gratefully received.

I have to come back sometime just to see what the answer to this one is.

Now I know how my medical team feels when I ask some of my bizarre questions.

And now we wait...

Good luck!