Good Dynamics that aren't SM57/58 for vocals

Seafroggys

With my home studio at my parents' house, and the fact I moved out two years ago, I have to make the 20 minute drive if I want to record stuff. Which is fine, but sometimes I just want to lay down some basic demo stuff and the drive ain't really worth it for that.

So I'm setting up a home away from home studio, and I'm looking for a basic dynamic that'd be good for vocal work. Yes, I know the SM7b, and yes, I have been wanting one for years, but just can't find any good used deals for them yet. What's something in the sub $150 that isn't an SM57 or 58, considering I already own 2?

I don't know about the price range, but I'd never have any problems using an md421.
You don't hear it mentioned all that often for vocals but I like it.

I've no experience with the 412II, which I believe has a bit of a presence boost, but I do have a pair of older 421ns that are lovely.

I've really love the Sennheiser e935 I use for vocals. It can be found in your price range. And if you're planning to record in less than ideal environments.........the side and rear rejection is excellent. Check out the reviews. IMO...much better than a 57 or 58. But.....as everyone here will agree to.......mic performance is subject to personal taste more than almost any other recording tool.

beyond what has been mentioned, while you're on the lookout for a good deal on a used SM7b, also be on the lookout for a good deal on a used Electro-Voice RE-20, or a Sennheiser MD-441 (I did snag a 441 within your budget once, but haven't seen one since).

Also, with a greater likelihood of success, think about an older Eletro-Voice RE-10 (or 15 or 16). The EV 635(a? b? -don't know about the letters) is an omni mic that can work pretty well for vocals if it's not picking up too much other stuff.