Condenser mic creating ghost noise after wind - insight/advice?

alexc

Hello,

I have been using an M-Audio Solaris condenser mic for the past 6 years. It's worked perfectly until tonight. Right in the middle of tracking vocals, it began this behavior:

Now, if it encounters any sort of "wind" - e.g. breathy "ooh" singing, H-sounds, or even gentle blowing - it sends a ghost signal for 5-10 seconds after the sound stops. It's a low frequency (50-60k) rumbling with glitchy higher sounds. I checked everything else (cable, firewire interface, software) and I'm sure it's the mic. It only occurs with "wind" - normal talking, snapping, or even loud clapping don't trigger it.

EDIT: I added a sample WAV with this ghost/rumble/squeaky noise:
http://ghost.boyinstatic.com/homerecording/

I don't know anything about the internal mechanism of condenser mics. My feeling is that the wind is making something "wobble." So my questions:

1. Any insight into what is physically going on?

2. Is this normal wear-and-tear for condenser mics? It's 6 years old. I've handled the mic very well, never dropped or hit. And I've only recorded fairly quiet things - singing vocals, viola, acoustic guitar, etc. Are condenser micas really this fragile? It was $300-400 when I got it, so it's very disappointing.

3. Is it worth trying to bring to someone to take apart and repair?

Any help/insight would be appreciated.

Alex

Last edited:
Any sample of said noise?

By wind, are we talking wind? Or just that which gets exhaled from a human lung? Could be a lot of things. Might be humidity related. Might be electricity / grounding related. Might be dust or something on/near the mic element. Might be gremlins...