Condenser or Dynamic?

lostluvr86

I'm totally new to the whole home-recording thing, so I have a quick question.
I read the descriptions of both types of microphones, but I'm still unsure of which kind to purchase.
I need a mic to record both vocals and instruments (most likely just guitar), so which type should I go for?
I only have the budget to buy one type.
Also, it you have any links for good mics that could do both, please post them!

Condenser mics require phantom power. Dynamics don't. Condensers are much more sensitive than dynamics. Cheaper condensers tend to have some high end hype. Good condensers are usually much more expensive than good dynamics.

Now I'll bet you think I'm gonna recommend a dynamic, huh?

If I were just starting out, and could only have one mic for vocals and guitar (I'm assuming you're talking about acoustic guitar) I'd get as decent a condenser as I could with my budget.

While I use dynamics for tons of stuff--and have some that see more use than any of my condensers, I'm recording a bit of everything. But acoustics are always with condensers, and vocals are half the time. So given your parameters, I would choose a condenser to cover those tasks first.

Of the two, I'd say condenser, but if you're only buying one mic for vocals and guitar, it's going to be a pretty big compromise on both. For guitar, you'd ideally want a small diaphragm condenser, probably omni. For voice, you'd ideally want a large diaphragm condenser, probably not omni.... :)

You might consider a phantom-powered ribbon mic, e.g. the new Nady RSM-8A, a.k.a. the Nady Active Studio Ribbon Mic.

http://www.abesofmaine.com/item.do?item=NADRSM8A&id=NADRSM8A&l=FROOGLE

When you say guitar....do you mean Acoustic? Or are you looking to mic and electric guitar cab? I'm gonna assume acoustic. If you're just starting out, I'd agree with these guys and say definitely go with a condenser. Personally, I'd go with a Large Diaphragm Condenser for a few reasons: