Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: breath noise

Thanks

breath noise

Sign in to disable this ad
    I'm a newbie to use of condenser microphones. My first attempt to record acoustic guitar revealed very nice tone but also the relatively loud noise of me breathing. I'd appreciate advice on coping with this problem (other than stop breathing...)

Thanks
    try aiming the mic more at the guitar, yet a little farther away, say 12" - 18".
    At the 12th fret pointing toward the sound hole
    In His Name
    Big Kenny

Thanks
    Here's the hard truth- Being a recording artist involves changing the way you play and sing. Open your mouth and breath more slowly. No, I'm not telling you to stop breathing. I'm telling you to *control* your breathing. Just stop making the damn noise, already.- "and lose the watch. It sounds like a grandfather clock".-Richie

Thanks
    if you use compression and expansion after you have recorded your tracks, and you find an appropriate level, you can bring up everything which is quiet, resulting in a uniform waveform. Most recording programs offer it, but the quality of compression ranges... just remember that word "compression"
    Tyler Ferrari

Thanks
    Ha, ha! When I did the first vocal take after I got a good mic, I soloed it in Wavelab to cut any extraneous noise. I was listening to it, and thought, "What is that?"

After every phrase, I would hold my breath for about a quarter second, then suddenly release it through my nose. These nasal plosives are super annoying, almost embarassing. I cut them all out by hand.

Now I gotta relearn breathing and singing.
    The fabulous Naiant Mics, perfect for acoustic instruments!

If you don't have DavidK's CD, you are a loser.

My tunes. Thanks!
    NB
    DA BEARS!

Thanks

Condensers mics