Birthday present for my girlfriend - help?

Littlebrother

Hello

Strange title - first time poster.

Essencially my question is;
Wich of the following mic's is best for my application? (as every other thread in this section, duh)

Background;
My girlfriend is a (female) vocalist. A singer. A good one, been doing musicals, rock-cover bands etc. She has a Blue-something something mic today, and it won't handle her tops (screaming / belting) and it won't record her bottoms (whispers).

A quick google, and everything seems to point to Neumann U47. That doesn't mean I'm restricted, only to this kind of mic.
Anyway, she's turning 30 years in 1,5 months, and I'd like to give her a new mic for birthday present. I'm fairly good with the soldering iron, and I have some experience in making my own stuff.

My budget is (kind of) limited to $1000. If there isn't much difference between a $500 mic and a $1000 mic, I'd like to throw in a USB-soundcard there as well.

She is using Audient iD4 with a Blue Baby Bottle mic today.

Options i've found;
Warm Audio WA-47 $1000
DIY Micandmod U47 replica $599
DIY vintagemicrophonepcbkit $1000
DIY Groupidly (an array of different builds) $500-1000

So what is your experience?

Hi there,
We've had a few gift-suggestion signs ups here over the years. :D

It can be tricky suggesting specific gear as a gift but your description of the problem caught my attention.
"it won't handle her tops (screaming / belting) and it won't record her bottoms (whispers)"

Honestly, that's probably not a problem with the microphone/type of microphone.
If a recorded signal is distorting for any reason, and there are numerous possible reasons, it's up to the engineer to make changes to microphone position, pads, gain, etc to find the right balance.
Say, for argument's sake, someone does that, she's then going to have even bigger problems with her whispers because the whole signal path has been taken down a few notches.