behringer mic pre, or behringer built in mixer pres

tojo

Hey guys, I'm just looking for a couple opinions. I am trying to decide whether or not I should use a dedicated behringer mic pre, instead of the built in mic pres on my behringer mixer. My school of though right now is... I should go with the dedicated mic pre into the behringer mixer, because if it's just a standalone mic pre it must be better than the ones on the behringer mixer.

here's the mic pre: Behringer Ultra gain mic200

here's the mixer: Behringer Eurorack mx1604A

so far the mixer seems good enough for my needs... but If i were to use the dedicated preamp how would I go about using it? Would I go:

Mic -> Preamp -> Patchord cable out into a line in on a channel on my mixer? I mean wouldn't putting it into the line in on a mixer add the mixer-pres on top of the dedicated pres? (I hopes this isn't too confusing, but I have little experience with preamps)... so would I just turn the gain all the way down and then put it into the line in?

thanks guys.

That's exactly what you would do.

Mic--->XLR--->Preamp--->Line Out--->Line In Mixer

I've heard mixed things about those Behringer Pre's - they don't last long (at least they didn't in the early days). I own a few behringer preamps they are good but the tube warmth isn't that great. I hear changing up the valve in there is the way to go for more warmth and improved sound quality.

:)

So you suggest that I do use it over the built in pres at least for all my mono sources( I only have one) ....

by the way if you click on the link, could you tell me which input i would go into (which line in) on the mixer? Would I avoid going into the first 4 because they already have pres (they have gain knobs so they are pres right).... so should i go from the pre into the line in on any of the first channels or no...?

once again, i'm being a little confusing sorry about that. (bad grammer too!)