Synth cabling

gstoelen

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to producing music (electronic genres mainly), and so far I've been using an iMac with a Focusrite Clarett 2Pre interface, and a bunch of VST's.
Now I'm looking forward to adding a few hardware synths to the setup, and I was thinking about a Virus Ti, and possibly a Roland JP8000.
What equipment would be recommended to hook it all up? And how would it have to be cabled then? :cool:

Thanks for any feedback!

You have two ways of working generally with external synths. You could add a patchy, somewhere convenient and wire your synths and your two channels to the interface to it, and then plug in each synth as you need it, and once you've got the sounds right, record it in and then move onto the next one and so on - or you could connect them all to a simple mixer, and feed that to the interface - so you can control them via MIDI, and then blend them properly and once the mix is done - you then record the mixed stereo synth product to a stereo track.

The alternative is an interface with multiple ins, so they can all be recorded separately.

I now find that it's only occasionally I pull out an old project and need to use the sounds from my real synths, and I usually just record their output into a stereo track and then unplug them again. Most of my synths have identical or very close VSTi sounds available, so from choice, I use these. However - my Korg Triton and the old Roland 1080 still have a few unique sounds in them.

Great, thanks for the reply.
Perhaps the easiest/most convenient option is adding a small mixer to the setup (especially because I already have that Clarett and it's doing a great job so far).
I don't think there's a virtual substitute for the Virus Ti (correct me if I'm wrong), and the JP8000 is a great trance machine but I agree, it could perhaps be replaced or matched by a Sylenth or Massive :)