Please recommend an entry-level professional keyboard/synth

Sammy Sands

Hi all,

I have decided it is about time to start building my little home studio. I am a guitarist first, so I have that base covered. I am mostly concerned about my choices in keys/synths.

Let's say I have $1,200 to spend on getting my studio started. I know that is extremely modest, but it's all I can do at the moment. I'm looking to start with a keyboard/synth, 8-track recorder, and drum machine. All this equipment must be used, of course.

I'm looking to pick up a used Boss DR-660 for drums, and a Roland VS-880. Both used I can score for about $800 on HC or eBay, unless you have any other recommendations. I'm focusing on the keys/synth now. That leaves about $300-$400 for that.

What do you recommend for a good, entry-level, professional-sounding keyboard/synth — in the $400 range, used?

Thanks!

You can probably find several decent used synths in the $300-$400 range. It's difficult to recommend a specific unit, not knowing what you want/need. I'm assuming you need a keyboard (vs. a rack module). Obviously, if you can buy direct from the previous owner you have a better chance of learning the history - was the keyboard used on the road vs. only in a home studio, etc. If you shop used, make sure you play every key (using different sounds) to confirm that it works well - in particular if the keys are pressure sensitive). When buying a keyboard the "key" things to consider are:

What kind of "feel" do you want from the keyboard? (Piano players normally want a "weighted feel" - which costs more.) Also how many keys do you need? You should be able to get by with 61 (vs. 76 or 88). Naturaly more keys = more cost.

What kind of sounds do you need? Realistic piano/organ vs. "synth sounds"? Is Midi application important?

Do you need on board effects? If you're just starting out, chorus and reverb on the keyboard eliminates the need for rack units.