Organs & Strings on XV-5050

warble2

Not an expert
Hey all,
I'm using a Yammie S80 for my main gig board right now. I've got the PLG150-AP plug-in board for piano (have actually gotten compliments on the sound) and have that covered, but am looking for a module with decent organ and strings. The organs on the S80 are OK, and the strings are well, not doing it for me. I've read some good things about the XV-5050, just haven't had the chance to actually hear one (and can't find much in the way of demo samples online).

To anyone how has used one or still does - do the built-in effects (cosm) allow you to achieve some nice, Leslie enhanced B3 type sounds? Maybe a little dirty with some decent overdrive?

How about strings? I'm looking for backing string patches with nice velocity sensitivity. I used to own a XP80, and did like that, but also had the expansion cards (session, keys of the 60's & 70's, orchestra) loaded in it. So, I've been toying with looking for a JV-1080 or 2080 as well and loading either up with expansions. I guess I'm a little more intrigued with the XV-5050 at this point.

Any input appreciated! I know there are some here that do quite a bit of gigging, so if you use a 5050 (or have) spill your guts (lol).

EDIT: I know there are better options out there these days, but I'm looking at "the bay" and thinking about $200-250 price range.

Last edited:
Man, I miss my XV... *sheds a tear*

This is probably my favorite rack of all time. I feel that it has something good to offer in just about all patch categories. The expansions make it even more powerful. I would absolutely recommend the buy - replace mine while you're at it :D

I feel that the Yamaha Motif ES line offers more realistic strings, as well as some good organs, though. I haven't been to Roland's site in a while but I thought they used to offer samples. If not, you could always visit your local music store and ask 'em to hook one up for you.