Midi controller keyboard

mcmac74

Hi

I'm looking for suggestions for a midi keyboard that can plug into my PCs USB port . I'll be using Reaper as my DAW. It needs to be compact so a 32 key board perfect. I'm new to midi so hard to say exactly what I'm looking for capability wise...as a starting point...velocity sensitive, a good range of keyboard and bass guitar synths along with the ability to sustain notes. I'd prefer the unit is preloaded with lots of effects rather than having to download VSTs to it, although I'd be happy to do that in time .. ease of use ticks a box too.

The budget is £100 and I dont mind buying second hand...ebay seems to have a wide range of new and second hand

Cheers
Mark

Most people are moving away from synths to master keyboards that just drive your system, and all the sounds come from the computer. VSTi technology is now so solid and HUGE that using real synths is a total pain. You are locked into a range of sounds that you use over and over. I've got loads of modules and synths I bought over the years and I don't use any of them, because you play them, then edit, then the computer plays the edited stuff while the synth produces the sound that you then have to connect to your interface to record the audio to do the mix - THEN - you always find a note wrong and have to go back to the midi file, then re-record the audio. My favourite synths and modules are now VSTi instruments in the computer so they just work! Working with a hardware synth is a compromise and a historic way to work now - especially as music changes so rapidly, so that favourite bass synth sound is soon so old!