Help a noob pick a midi controller.

g0dmoney

Anyone have any idea what would be the best midi controller for a total beginner? I'm interested in using this to produce some industrial type sounds in metal music. I primarily use fruityloops and cool edit pro in my project studio and would be willing to try out various soft-synth programs... I need a pretty quick answer so I can get this before christmas... The ability to play drum samples and stuff as well would be a definate plus.. Like the MicroKontrol made by Korg. I am also leaning towards one of these: http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/Radium61-main.html

Would like it to be less than $300 if possible. Thanks! :D

yamaha cs2x

i just bought one on ebay for £102 - it has all the functions of a controller and has loads of great sounds, 16 part multi timbral, it is also very easy to edit and create your own sounds - it was voted best value synth by future music - you will need a usb midi port that you can pick up quite cheap however i would also recommend buying a usb soundcard such as the m audio quattro with 4 jack ins and 4 outs, very low latency, + midi in / out so you have it all in one - you could then also use your outputs for samples from the pc to your desk - i bought one the other day second hand for £100 - both items will be a lot cheaper where you are. a great sequencing tool is cubase sx, reason is ok but its all software related, you can still do the same with cubase even link the two to play together but cubase can do it all and has soft synths, plugins etc and you can input external hardware such as keyboards etc. if your going to sample grooves / loops then get your hands on recycle - its amazing - it analises your loops and breaks them down into sections plus fx - you can totally sort out your loops to play perfectly in time - they import into cubase easily and also reason - hope this is of some help!

g0dmoney said:
Like the MicroKontrol made by Korg. :D