Disassembling FATAR keyboard to clean - Help!

Toddskins

I have a Kurzweil K2500XS synth, which has a FATAR keyboard in it. After speaking to a Kurzweil tech support guy yesterday, he tells me most of the keyboard manufacturers (Korg, Roland, Yamaha) buy their keyboards from FATAR (Italy).

I have taken apart my whole synth, taken out the keyboard assembly, but then I am at a total loss on how to take various keys apart so I can clean beneath them. I have used can of air blast, and that actually worked, but only for a minute or two. After everything was back together, and I started playing, a couple minutes later that problem returned.

A dead flea fell between the cracks of my keys and my D#4 (above middle C) plays at full volume at the slightest touch. I've learned that these FATAR keyboards have rubber contacts, and that they can be cleaned, or replaced, by a technician.

I've read on a couple other musical sites that there are a few guys who recommend learning how to clean their own keyboards for various and obvious reasons.

Anyone here ever done something like this?

Trying to find a mechanical manual or schematic on this keyboard assembly has proven vain. The best I can get is from the pics from the Fatar site.

This link is a picture of a similar FATAR keyboard that can be clicked on for large magnification:

http://www.fatar.com/FOTO HIGH/TP_40_WOOD.jpg

Attachments

• Diagram.gif
    Diagram.gif
    19.7 KB · Views: 6,686
  • Touch.jpg
    Touch.jpg
    11.1 KB · Views: 6,888
picture of rubber contacts

I got this pic from the Midi-Store. The lady on the phone said there is no way she could know which part belongs to the specific Fatar keyboard. They just have parts for sale, and it's up to a technician to know what he needs to buy.

Nevertheless, this is what rubber contacts look like. These 12 contacts sell for $3.99.