ADVICE: keyboard controller/synth/sound module, etc for $3k

Jim S

This is similar but not identical to previous threads: I'm a guitarist/bass player with no MIDI experience using Protools Dig001 including Sample Cell who needs a keyboard/synth for my home studio for all kinds of sounds which seem to be found in many workstations or modules I've tried like the Korg, Roland, and the Emu. Some sounds on these are good but many like guitar and horn sounds are not so great. Recall I do have Digi's Sample Cell which is decent. I compose rock, funk, metal, funk-jazz tunes and record to CD at home.
My budget for this keyboard/soundmodule/rack/synth/sampler tops at $3000 (US)and my priorities in choosing equipment are sound quality and ease of use. Would you recommend:
  • For sound sources do you suggest CD-ROMs (which ain't cheap) or the plug-in expansion cards made for the sample/workstation/synths like Roland or Korg and Emu modules? Are the sounds on these expansion boards as good as sample CD-ROMs?
  • Controller/midimaster keyboard (like Fatar or Roland A90)) and a rack unit like Roland XV-5030 or 5080, Korg Triton?
  • Controller/midimaster keyboard and sound module(s) like Emu Proteus 2000 and better outboard samper such as ESI-2000 or other recommendation?
  • Roland XP-30, 60, 80 or XV-88 or Korg Trinity with it's expandable sound cards? I'm open to other brands but know less about QSR,Yamaha, Oberheim, Emu/ensoniq, etc.
Thanks for any advice.

Not sure if you'll like it,but GC has been blowing out their stock of Kurzweil 2500 keyboard/workstations for $1999 from a list of $6000.Me,I have a modest setup with pieces from Alesis,Korg,and Roland 'cause they each have a few jewels and a few turds.