Univox Amp - anyone?

Xdrummer

I just picked up an old solid state Univox amp for $20 - after a little research, it may be a U65 (vintage 1971, solid state. It does not power up. I unscrewed the fuse cap and there is no fuse. The lable on the amp indicates 0.3A - which I think is a basic 1 amp fuse.

I'm hopeful a new fuse will allow me to fire it up - and would like to use the right type of fuse. If I can get it fired up, it may have a little trade value ...... if nothing else, I think Univox used higher end Jenson speakers - so at least the 12" speaker my be worth $20.

I'm a drummer and rather ignorant about guitar amps. Does 0.3A indicate a certain type of fuse??? I appreciate any insight anyone can offer.

If the label says 0.3A, that means a 0.3 amp fuse.

However, a picture of the label and fuse holder would be handy.

If you have a room with a dimmer switch hooked to an outlet, you should use it.
To fire that up after however many years with no power or not being used.... could be you will fry the guts before getting any sound out of it.
It needs to be powered up slowly so you dont ruin it.
If you can't do that, you will risk a toasted amp that is not even worth your $20.
You can make a small 'VARIAC' or variable voltage unit from a house dimmer switch and an outlet.
Plug the dimmer into a wall outlet, and your amp into the dimmer switch outlet you have wired to it, then bring up the voltage slowly, and it will be less likely to hurt the amp.
S

If you have a room with a dimmer switch hooked to an outlet, you should use it.
To fire that up after however many years with no power or not being used.... could be you will fry the guts before getting any sound out of it.
It needs to be powered up slowly so you dont ruin it.
If you can't do that, you will risk a toasted amp that is not even worth your $20.
You can make a small 'VARIAC' or variable voltage unit from a house dimmer switch and an outlet.