Tube amps.

ecktronic said:
I have a Marshall JCM2000 DSL50 tube amp with 1960 4x12 cab. I was wondering if anyone knew exactly what the presence knob does. I know it changes the sound and makes it sound better, but does turning up the presence knob drive the tubes more for a smoother warmer sound or is it something else?

http://www.marshallamps.com/images/products/dsl/dsl50.html

The presence control adds "presence". The higher you turn it, the more "in you face" the guitar sound is. The lower you turn this control the more the guitar tone softens and blends in with the other instruments.

I have a Fender Bandmaster with a presence control. It seems to be an eq boost that accentuates the mid frequencies (when I listen), and is in the feedback loop of the last amplifier stage, including the output tubes and the output transformer, so it may have some effect on the tube drive at those frequencies.

http://www.kbapps.com/audio/schematics/tubeamps/fender/bandmaster5e7.html

I don't know squat about tube circuits - maybe somebody can explain its action.

It is a feedback loop. It takes the signal after the power tubes, filters out the low end, and sends it back through the power tubes again.

Farview said:
It is a feedback loop. It takes the signal after the power tubes, filters out the low end, and sends it back through the power tubes again.
This is probably just splitting hairs, but it looks like it variably shunts the high frequencies to ground. Assuming this is a negative feedback loop, this would have the effect of increasing the gain at those frequencies. I don't understand why it is done at the output stage of the circuit, rather than in the preamp section. Does it produce a substantialy different sound or effect if done this way, or is it just a matter of convenience or circuit simplicity?