Is there any way to make electric bass sound more like upright bass?

almost all rockabilly acts that feature an upright bassist have a flamboyant bassist who is a master of crowd rousing theatrics. It's pretty much an expected staple of a rockabilly show.

Quoted for thruth

So I just picked up my first upright and started recording with it. So the big things that I noticed about that tone is there isn't as much sustain. There seems to be a lot of string noise. (like, the string hitting the fretboard is very loud relative to an electric). And the tone itself is more "pure", so low notes get lost easily

I've tried the rubber-string uke-basses. They usually are fretless (though marked). They're hard to slide on; your fingers really stick to those strings.

how did they sound relative to an upright, acoustic bass?

Just my humble opinion:

I started playing/writing on a vintage upright 20ish years ago. It was a rockabilly blues band, as as Jimistone stated it was as much about flailing it around and entertaining with it as much as the sound.

As I grew out of that style over time, and have moved much more into a singer/songwriter role, I recently happened to pick up a GT Microbass.

The strings take some getting used to, but the sound is a reasonable "upright" sound without the pain in the ass of lugging one around. I like it.

Having said all this, I wouldn't do a rockabilly show with one, but I think blues or anything else would be fine.

how did they sound relative to an upright, acoustic bass?

Y'know. Now that I think about it, I don't know that I ever plugged one in. I basically picked it up. Played around for a second. Said, "huh. I hate this." and put it back down. :D

Y'know. Now that I think about it, I don't know that I ever plugged one in. I basically picked it up. Played around for a second. Said, "huh. I hate this." and put it back down. :D

funny, i picked it up, played it for a second, and said, "i love this." haha.