Theory Question

Wireneck

I have been playing about 10 years now. I am self taught and have managed to get by ok since I have a somewhat descent ear. I've been jamming with this other guitarist for the past 3-4 months who is an incredible player. He is really great at improv and is capable of bringing the shred but has great taste as a player (rare haha). We have been working on some songs with the focus being irregular key changes and exotic harmonies among other things.
His approach to playing has in a way inspired me to try and actually understand "why" the things I am playing works. I have never been great at improv so I am trying to work on that as well.
So here goes my simple question.......We were just screwing around on this clean acoustic piece and trading licks. One section goes back and forth between an E-minor and a C- minor chord. Simple enough right? Typically I would just noodle around untill i found something that I liked and not worry about what notes im playing or what scale it is but lately i've been trying to approach this by thinking a little more.
So at the very basic level I could play within the E-minor and then the C-minor scale (or so my friend tells me, "you need to modulate with the key"). When he does it, it flows and never breaks up and hes basically in one position on the fretboard but when I try and approach it this way it sucks big time. Is there some rule about transitional notes when modulating keys?
And lastly is there a website that list out the different positions for say something like E minor scale?
I should probably just quit thinking and play but thats what I always say and I never learn this stuff. I really want to understand it but for some reason its like rocket science to me. And Yes I could ask my friend but I am almost too embarassed to show him how clueless I really am. Thanks in advance