split personality?

Lorddiagram

NOte: I posted this in reply to a topic on the mixdown forum but thought it would be interesting to hear the guitarist's opinion.

A question I often consider. First, out of curiousity, how many here began recording because they played a musical instrument? How many here consider themselves recording engineers first and muscians second or are you a "muscian" first and a "recording engineer" second?
------Second, especially if you consider yourself more the musciain, do you ever find your "creativity" "juice" or whatever, stifled because you are chock full of recording tech ideas, and equipment desires?

What's ya'lls (virginian, alright?) take on the musician/recording engineer relationship. Should they get in each others business?

Hey Lorddiagram:

I began semi-seriously recording earlier this year but I have been a guitarist for 15 years. I definitely consider myself a guitarist first. However, I am starting to derive as much enjoyment from recording as I do from playing guitar and now bass. Yes, since I started recording, I have taken a more serious approach to bass (and I have learned that just because you can play guitar, does not mean that you can play bass). I am happily married, a baby is on the way, and I work full time, so it is hard for me to find time to jam with others during the week. Recording has actually unlocked my creativity by allowing me to jam with myself and to develop a better ear for musical interaction between instruments without having to schedule time with others to experience this. Don't get me wrong, playing with others is way better due to the variations in influences, style, and imagination among different indivduals, but for me and my schedule, home recording provides the next best thing.