Scale Theory Question:

Mr. Bert

I spent years in cover bands and learned to play most of the leads note for note, with no knowledge of scales and their progressions. I could play the song, but I couldn't tell you what the notes were.

I believe this greatly hampered my lead playing and creativity because I bypassed so many important aspects of musical theory. I was totally self-taught. My only saving graces are good timing and a good ear.

I recently started taking music lessons to learn the theory behind the compositions and man, is it ever intimidating sometimes. However, I have been able to understand more than I ever did before about music in general, even though I still have a long way to go.

I recently started playing again after having been out of it for 12 years. My leads are good and melodic, but I am trying to increase my speed and play lots of harmonic minor scales as opposed to the old pentatonic blues scales.

I do very well on the older SRV and AC/DC leads, but I am having a hard time getting the pattern and speed down on some of the more pyrotechnic styles.

This leads me to a question. What was the one thing (or things) that 'unlocked the door' to your ability to combine scales and increase your speed?

I appreciate your input...Bert

Practicing with a metronome helped alot.Practicing 6-7 hrs. a day didn't hurt either.Wish I still had the time to do that.

Turn on the radio, go to a station you don't normally listen to, and try to play along with every song that comes on. You'll have to figure out the key and appropriate scale for each song but that should be easy since you've played by ear for so long.

Geting comfortable playing with various types of music and different meters should improve your improvisational skills and dexterity immensely.

As far as speed, it comes with time, don't hurry it (no pun intended).