practice amp for guitar

orksnork

i feel as though i am a fairly seasoned veteran of the guitar.

right now my road rig consists of three gibson sgs, and a road case with a marshall 1960 cab, marshall jmp1 preamp, and a mesa boogie 50/50 power amp.

now when it comes to practice amps, i basically know fuck all...

a friend of mine used to have a fender bronco, and it sounded pretty nasty (and noisy, but who cares in your bedroom if you get a lot of hum)...
the last practice amp i had was a fender squire amp that came with my fender strat squire pack when i was 11, and even that thing had some decent chunk to it...

ive walked around in guitar center with an sg, and plugged in to a lot of crap...nothing sounds worth having... i know it's not going to sound golden, but AT LEAST SOUND WORTH HAVING

any ideaaaaaaaaars?

How small? I really like the epiphone valve junior, a 5-watt tube amp. I have the head, but they also make a combo. Nice classic tone, one knob, simple as pie.

The little rolands (cube, microcube) are decent in the modeling amp category, as are the vox's, or so I've heard.

That Epi Valve Jr HEAD is great, plug it into a nice cab and sound like EC as soon as you turn it on. For $99 you cant get a better deal in class A all tube. Has 4, 8, and 16 ohm jacks on the back.

The combo version sucks, only because they put a crap speaker in it that cant handle the tone coming from the amp. But it has an 8 ohm jack for an external cab, which makes it sound really sweet if you plug into a Weber or something....

I'm getting two of the heads....

another idea is the Traynor TRM40, it's the most tube-like ss amp I've ever heard! 20 watts per channel, with two jacks for two 8 ohm external cabs. Has the nicest chorus I've ever heard in a combo. $165 delivered.

I love my Fender blues Junior. Served me well in my dorm room where my Deluxe was just too loud. Hard to beat all tube Fenders or Marshalls in my opinon.