my guitar tone. LISTEN and tell me what you think!

drumminsnowman

Hey everybody,
well, before reading this, realize that i am a drummer, and not all a guitar player, nor should i ever be let near a guitar, because i suck. However, im trying to get a good tone for a punk rock guitar... and i have no idea what it should sound like...
So any suggestions on this clip would be greatly appreciated.
I am recording thru a peavey transtube amp, micing it with a shure sm57, and the signal is running thru a dmp3 to my m-audio sound card.
Here is the clip -->

WARNING! ITS LOUD, so turn ur speakers down!

ok, so more treble? mid? bass?
or should i just go cry and give up?

when you click on the link... it doesnt seem to work for me... so jsut copy and paste in your adress bar if it doesnt work. Thanks!

Well...it's pretty sloppy playing. Don't take offense to that because I'm being honest. The tone is pretty....stale. And keep in mind that tone starts from the fingers.

Coupled with the fact that I hate the sound of the Peavey Transtube amps. They're a joke. Merely a marketing tactic. If you want a good Peavey, go for the Classic, Ultra, or Triple X. My first amp was a Peavey Ultra 410. It was pretty awesome. I wish I still had it, actually.

The sound you're getting from the mic isn't the problem...however, you might try using mic positioning to get a better sound. Use the mic to your advantage as much as you can.

Also, you ask what should the guitar sound like. Well...whatever YOU want it to sound like. It's whatever you think sounds good. Tone is subjective anyway. But your ability to play is really holding it back. A lot.

I would say that the tone is pretty good. I can see that working well for the type of music your going after.

The playing,...well,..you already know.

Take 'er easy,..
Calwood