I built a tele

JCH

El Nacho
The body is built from some poplar that was leftover from a job that I did a few months ago. The top is mahogany veneer. The sides and back are black. The neck is a mystery neck that I bought on ebay. It turned out to be pretty nice. 12" rad 1-5/8ths nut Strat style rout. The tuners, neck plate, output jack, control cover, and the alnico tele neck pickup are all MM. Noname humbucker bridge, with a noname paf spec pu. Tortoise pickguard. This is my first build so I tried to keep it simple and use it as a learning experience. So far so good.

I fit it together last night for the first time so I could drill all of the holes before completing the finish, shielding, wiring etc.. I'm having trouble making myself take it apart.

Attachments

• hang.jpg
    hang.jpg
    38.3 KB · Views: 137
Awesome work! I take it you've not gotten to play it yet? I'm wondering how the intonation will be.

Way to go!

punkin said:
Awesome work! I take it you've not gotten to play it yet? I'm wondering how the intonation will be.

Thanks man. After it got the fresh set of walmart 10's. I wired up the humbucker, and plugged in through my volume pedal. Crude but effective.

I was anxious to see how well my layout worked. I wanted to get the best angle from the back of the intonation blocks to the holes through the bridge. Everything worked out fine. The neck height is right where I want it. I didn't have to touch the truss rod. Intonation was easy.

That's amazing. When you mentione "mystery neck" I figured you'd be fooling with the angle and depth till the cows came home.

Good for you!