I am a sucky guitarist because:

What makes you such a blowy guitarist?

• I don't know enough theory

Votes: 37 33.3%
  • My picking hand feels like a brick

Votes: 20 18.0%
  • My fretting hand is glacially slow

Votes: 24 21.6%
  • I blame my equipment (piece of shit guitar, amp says "Crate" on it, etc.)

Votes: 3 2.7%
  • I sound like crap unless I use a boatload of effects

Votes: 2 1.8%
  • Er...because I'm a drummer?

Votes: 12 10.8%
  • I'm refuse to play anything but "Smoke On The Water" on my Fender So-Cal

Votes: 2 1.8%
  • My name is acidrock

Votes: 11 9.9%

• Total voters
I could almost guarantee that you suffer with depression...I was a pro guitarist for over 45 years, did recording, TV. radio and session work,however, I had bi-polar disorder and some days I couldn't even tune my ax. Don't get concerned about it, I know its a bummer but just "Enjoy" playing when all is well.
Remember above all that it is not a competition

Itsonlyme.

Haha awesome thread.

I'd say both a combination of "slow fretting hand" and "I'm a drummer" excuses for me!

/haves another drink

I feel like I sound pretty tasteful when I play slow.. the problem is shredding and stuff like that. I know, you don't HAVE to do that but I think these days it's like a high pressure for guitarists cause there're so many ultramega-technique-guys out there.
So in a way, fast-playing is kind of a basic thing that's almost expected when people look for new guitarists :(

I feel like I sound pretty tasteful when I play slow.. the problem is shredding and stuff like that. I know, you don't HAVE to do that but I think these days it's like a high pressure for guitarists cause there're so many ultramega-technique-guys out there.
So in a way, fast-playing is kind of a basic thing that's almost expected when people look for new guitarists :(

It's a shame, because that kind of playing has no musical value.

I can't play half the things I'd like to because of my playing style.