Guitar and Bass collaboration

STAROWEN

Hey! I'm new to this whole forum thing but you guys have helped me in the past so I figured I'd rely on you again XD

I play in a 4 piece band that has only one bassist and one guitarist and (as arrogant as it seems) we don't want to get a second guitarist as we feel it would ruin the perfect band dynamic we currently have. So, in order to try and cover for what would be a second guitarist, we need the bass to play a more prominent part of the composition.

I was just wondering if anyone has any tips on writing bass lines that would fill in for the guitar playing a lead part?
Or if anyone has any ideas on how to achieve a bass tone to the extent that it's audible and plays a nearly equal amount of importance to the guitars within the song?

The guitar tone (to aid guidance) is a The Smiths/The Stone Roses type jangly chorus-filled 'Fender' sound.

I trimmed down some songs to attach but it won't let me 'cos I haven't posted enough sorry.

Not sure why you think you need another guitarist or why you think the bass player isn't playing equally important parts... I'd say having two or more guitarists in a band would be more the exception than the rule, no? Both of those bands you mention only have one guitar player...