Forum Newbie-Amateur Guitar/Home Recording Guy

blackscot

Hello folks. I just joined this forum so thought I’d give a little intro. I’m hoping to hear from people with similar interests from whom I can learn.

I started playing guitar somewhere around 14, which I’m now 46 (will be 47 Monday...gasp!). For many years I just played acoustic, jamming with a couple buddies in high school, then just on my own in adulthood as a way to unwind after work. Mostly the 70’s organic-type rock that I grew up with like America, Crosby Stills etc. Sometime in my 30’s I was looking for something new to get into and started playing electric guitar, again just on my own for a couple of years working out more material from my youth but now broadened to include some of the heavier stuff like Jethro Tull, Black Sabbath, etc. It never really stood on its own though like the acoustic could (and I can’t – repeat CANNOT – sing worth a hoot, so that’s a definite NON-option). I really wanted to try some of the lead-guitar parts I’d heard over the years, which of course wouldn’t really sound like anything without having some kind of back-up. I realized I could try getting into a group, but for food and shelter I’ve sadly become a busy “professional” and knew I’d never have enough time (or patience honestly) to go that route. Enter home recording…..