EMG...Is this normal?

chamelious

www.thesunexplodes.com
Just got an EMG 81 and put it in my yamaha drop 6, it sounds great but has quite a large amount of noise when theres no noise gate on, see file attached. Is this normal?

Attachments

• EMG Noise.zip
    32.3 KB · Views: 20
No, that's not normal. They are usually very quite. Did you have it installed by a shop, or did you do it yourself? Check all of your solder connections. Without seeing it, I can't say for sure, but if your not experienced with soldering one possibility is that you've got some cold solder joints in there.

Light

"Cowards can never be moral."
M.K. Gandhi

I did it myself, cold solder joint?????

Regrounding? The manual specifically says not to connect the pickup to the ground in the guitar...

Regrounding? The manual specifically says not to connect the pickup to the ground in the guitar...

I have no experience with active electronics, but I'd assume you'd want to use the negative of the battery as your ground, not the guitar's ground.

If everything is connected the way the manual says, just check all joints, as Light said.

Hopefully Light will clear this up if I'm wrong, but as far as I know, cold solder joints can happen if the connection gets moved around while the joint cools, if the components being soldered together were not hot (meaning only the solder itself was hot at the time the connection was being made) and I have even been cautioned not to blow on solder joints to encourage them to make the joint solidify faster.

I've been told that a solder joint should be shinny when its cool and if it looks cloudy or like it has a satin finish on it, you've got a cold joint. That info had me opening up every one of my electrics and re-soldering quite a few joints.

I'd appreciate a correction and even more info if it's there to be had on cold solder joints though.