Electric guitar strings

bburch88

I am a beginner guitarist and want to know about pickups and strings for my Fender Stratocastor. I am considering the Kinman's pickups but not sure about strings. I would appreciate it if someone could steer me in a good positive direction. I want quiet/noisless pickups. I play Christian Praise and Worship.

BB

Hey, bb,

Strings: Elixers are great for their longevity. I use them and like the tone.

P/U: There are some "stacked" single coil humbuckers, and there are some humbuckers that are side by side and fit in a single coil space.

Really, is it that noisy now?

I think I have used nearly every kind of strings made on at least one of my three Fender Strats. It honestly doesnt matter all that much. Not nearly as much as your pickup choice. I like Elixers, I like plain old D'Addario's, and I like the Fender Bullets. The cool thing about bullets is that they're made to fit your Strat's tremelo and fit perfectly snugly in there. I do think it may help a *bit with sustain. Being a new player, you have years and years to try out different strings for yourself and find out what you like. I've also used DeanMarkleys, the DR strings, Super Slinkys, the Blue Steel Cryogenic Strings, various GHS, and 2.99 Guitar Center specials. They all work, you'll get the feel for what you like over a long period of trying stuff out.

H2H

If it's a real fender, why would you change the pickups. What kind of sound are you going for?

Pickups

My guitar is a cheaper Fender Squire, it has noisy-hummy pickups that sound crappy, the strings are 4-5 year old stock. I like the sound of the Kinman Traditional pickups and am considering them for this guitar. I want to put good strings on at the same time. I play acoustic guitar and have used martins and elixers.

BB