Could someone answer a guitar recording question please?

SirGalahad

Im a newbie guitar player with a Takamine electric acoustic. Is there a way I can by a cable to hook my guitar up to my pc with either the line in or midi? Is it some kind of standard amp cable that would do the trick? any help would be killer, thanks

Heh. As dmcsilva suggests, this question has been asked a thousand times and it has a thousand different answers. Because we really don't know your setup it's hard to say what you need. But I'll make a little list that might point you in the right direction. There is no "magic" cable though.

1) You need a microphone and a microphone preamp UNLESS your acoustic has electronics in which case you can get away with a Direct Input box to amplify the signal from your guitar. Any preamp (or effects box) will work though, but DI boxes are designed for those who want to record direct (without a microphone).

If the electronics in your guitar are active then you might get away without a preamp but it won't sound great.

2) You need a somewhat decent computer with a quick processor and a fast hard drive with lots of free space. Expect to burn about 10MB per minute of recording at 44.1Khz 16bit (that's per track!)

3) You need a decent soundcard. There are cards designed especially for recording, but you can get away with using a cheapo card. I use a garbage SB16 that works well enough, but I've tried other cheap cards (ES cards specifically) that just don't work at all. The card needs to be "full duplex" which means that it can playback and record at the same time.

4) You need multitracking software or at a minimum a wave editor. I'd recommend starting out with n-Track because it's hundreds cheaper than the big time stuff...and you can download a shareware version from http://www.fasoft.com